Sean SOnderegger's Magically inclined

Sean Sonderegger - bass & contrabass clarinet, tenor saxophone, compositions Areni Agbabian - vocals Harvey Valdes - guitar Greg Chudzik - bass, composition on The Visit Joe Hertenstein - drums

Sean Sonderegger has studied composition with Anthony Braxton, David Behrman, Paula Matthusen, Andy Laster, Ron Kuivila and Roy Nathanson. He has performed extensively with Roy Nathanson, and is featured on his 2009 release Subway Moon (Enja/Yellowbird Records). His compositions have been performed by the Roy Nathanson Saxophone Quartet, loadbang, and the Andrew Drury Tentet.


Sonderegger’s group Magically Inclined is made up of musicians that he performed alongside in Butch Morris’ ensembles including Areni Agbabian, Harvey Valdes, and Joe Hertenstein. Greg Chudzik (composer of the music to A Visit) has performed in Sonderegger’s various groups since 2007 and is highly active in the NYC new music scene. Sean Sonderegger has been playing in various projects with Curtis Fowlkes since 2007 including in Fowlkes’ own group, Catfish Corner.


“A Visit”, “We’re Born”, “Crown”, and “Eat the Air” are all compositions commissioned by Roy Nathanson for a music series at NYC’s the Stone. The compositions feature poems by Joanna Cooper.


Sonderegger's music incorporates aspects of collective free improvisation with highly composed material drawing from Sonderegger’s study of many musical traditions as well as his experiences working with Butch Morris, Adam Rudolph, Roy Nathanson and studies with Anthony Braxton.


Members of the ensemble have performed in groups led by Charlie Haden, Henry Threadgill, Charlie Hunter, Bill Frisell, Karl Berger, John Zorn, Adam Rudolph, Tigran Hamasyan, Butch Morris, Talea Ensemble, Bang on A Can All-Stars, Wet Ink Ensemble, and the Dave Crowell Ensemble.


Sean Sonderegger-Tenor Saxophone, Bass Clarinet

Curtis Fowlkes-Trombone

Kamala Sankaram (NYC), Areni Agbabian (LA)-Voice

Harvey Valdes-Guitar

Greg Chudzik-Bass

Joe Hertenstein-Drums, Percussion